Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Cusi bestows 18 awards to SM in 2016 energy-efficiency tilt

By Marvyn N. Benaning -

THE Department of Energy (DOE) has bestowed 18 awards to SM for its campaign to utilize electricity in the most efficient way, confirming its corporate juggernaut in the recent 2016 Don Emilio Abello Energy Efficiency Awards.
The DOE cited SM for its pioneering effort to instill the value of energy efficiency among its commercial centers and offices, and installed SM as a Hall of Fame awardee during ceremonies held at the Maxims Hotel in Resort World in Pasay City.
The Don Emilio Abello Efficiency Awards was spearheaded by the DOE to recognize companies and energy managers who have undertaken energy efficiency and conservation programs.
Energy Secretary Alfonso G. Cusi said the 2016 awardees led by SM are worthy of emulation since they contribute to the rational use of energy and promote environmental protection, as well, for the best interest of the entire country.
“The entire DOE family congratulates and holds in the highest esteem the recipients of this year’s Don Emilio Abello Energy Efficiency Awards. They collectively represent the ideal standard of excellence we want society to uphold, and we want others to emulate and replicate in the fast-evolving field of energy efficiency and conservation,” Cusi said.
Eight types of awards were bestowed during the ceremonies: the Secretary’s Award; Hall of Fame Award; Outstanding Award, which was given to firms that achieved energy efficiency by at least 5 percent; Citation Award, for those that improved energy efficiency by 3 percent or more, but less than 5 percent; Special Award for those that raised efficiency by 1 percent or higher, but less than 3 percent; Indigenous Award; Awards of Recognition; and Outstanding Energy Manager.
The complete list of awards is: Hall of Fame–Cyber Makati 1; Outstanding Award–SM City Iloilo, SM City North Edsa (Annex), The Podium, Mall of Asia and Cyber Makati 1; Outstanding Energy Manager Award–Melchor Nocomora for Cyber Makati 1, Franklin Crisostomo for Mall of Asia, Danilo Laxamana for The Podium, Daryl Pascual for SM City North Edsa (Annex) and Gino Jan Babao for SM City Iloilo; Special Award–One eCom Center, Cyber Makati 2 and SM Corporate Offices; and Award of Recognition–SM City Baguio, SM City North Edsa, SM General Santos and SM corporate offices.

No comments:

Post a Comment